Question timer in Crowd Controlled mode?

I’m new to Crowdpurr but have already selected it to use as part of our enablement effort at our SKO in January. One feature that really stands out is the Question Timer (in order to score down a question the longer it takes to answer). Unfortunately, I’m planning to put my experiences n Crowd Controlled mode in order to let my participants respond to each experience in their own time. Has there been any interest in enabling the Question Timer feature while in Crowd Controlled mode? Of course, if I’m misunderstanding the way these features work and you can suggest a workaround, I’m open to suggestions.

Hi @jay.hoffman,

Welcome to Crowdpurr!

Since the Crowd Controlled Mode is designed to allow participants to play completely at their own pace and choosing, the Question Timer is unavailable for this mode as this playback mode is meant to give your players as much time as they need to answer each question.

However, since you’re using the Crowd Controlled Mode to set up a “passive, on-demand” type of Trivia Game that allows players to respond on their own time, then you may actually be interested in setting the game under Fully Automatic Mode with Restart Experience Automatically enabled instead. You can find the Restart Experience Automatically setting on the same Playback & Timing tab and Automatic Restart Settings section, as displayed below.

RestartExperienceAutomatically

This setup will create a looping experience so players can join it at any time and still answer all of the questions. You would then be able to use the Question Timer and enable the Decreasing Points Timer, which is also highly encouraged for combatting cheating versus the Crowd Controlled Mode with its Question Timer disabled.

2 Likes

Thanks so much for the suggestion, Jemma!